Vision

The network "DeepFarmBots - AI-based agricultural robotics for effi­cient and sus­tain­able agriculture" aims to create new products, processes and services for the use of agricultural robots in different application areas of agriculture. Particular emphasis will be placed on developing technical solutions that can be used in multiple robotic systems across applications.

Some of the players in the planned network bring a deep understanding of agricultural practices and valuable access to farmers. In this industry, it is of particular importance to understand the user side, and to always consider their needs or requirements for technical systems during development. Economic aspects also play an important role in the course of developments, as new agricultural robotic solutions compete with conventional agricultural machinery technology. This places demands on the agricultural robots to be developed to be both powerful and effi­cient, but not disproportionately complex, in order to exhibit the greatest possible robustness. These basic ideas represent the mission and vision of the network.

The central goal of the network is to develop new technical solutions for the essential, so far open tasks in agricultural robotics through synergistic cooperation between the participating companies and research institutions, and to develop joint concepts for their commercialization. The robot systems are intended to offer an alternative to current agricultural practices, some of which are not very environmentally friendly, and to replace them in the medium to long term. On the technological side, the R&D projects within the network are aimed in particular at linking agricultural robotics with new approaches from artificial intelligence, especially deep learning, in order to significantly increase the precision and capabilities of robot-based systems.

The future viability of agricultural practice in terms of efficiency and sustainability is one of the main tasks of agribusiness in order to ensure both the supply of humanity and the conservation of essential resources and the environment. This opens up excellent market prospects for new technological developments in this field in Germany, the EU and worldwide. The aim of the synergistic and cooperative approach planned in the network is thus also to create global market and competitive advantages for the participating companies and to work jointly towards a leading role for German players in this extremely promising area of agricultural technology.

In summary, the network addresses a topic of increasing importance in the agricultural industry, which is associated with overarching unsolved technical problems. At the same time, the need for action is enormous due to the problems in agriculture described at the beginning, from which a great market relevance for new, innovative solutions that make agricultural practice more effi­cient and sus­tain­able is derived.

Vision

Das Netz­werk „DeepFarmBots – KI-basierte Agrar­robotik für eine effiziente und nachhaltige Land­wirtschaft“ soll neue Produkte, Verfahren und Dienst­leistungen für den Einsatz von Agrarrobotern in unter­schiedlichen Anwendungs­bereichen der Land­wirtschaft schaffen. Dabei soll ein besonderes Augenmerk auf der Erarbeitung von technischen Lösungen liegen, die anwendungs­übergreifend in mehreren robotischen Systemen eingesetzt werden können.

Einige der Akteure im geplanten Netz­werk bringen ein tief­greifendes Verständnis der land­wirtschaft­lichen Praxis und einen wertvollen Zugang zu Land­wirten mit. In dieser Branche ist es von besonderer Bedeutung, die Anwenderseite zu verstehen, und ihre Bedürfnisse bzw. Anforderungen an technische Systeme bei der Entwicklung stets zu berück­sichtigen. Auch wirtschaft­liche Aspekte spielen im Zuge der Entwicklungen eine wichtige Rolle, da neue agrar­robotische Lösungen mit der herkömmlichen Land­maschinen­technik im Wettbewerb stehen. Dies stellt die Anforderungen an die zu entwickelnden Agrarroboter, zugleich leistungs­fähig und effizient, jedoch nicht unverhältnis­mäßig komplex zu sein, um eine größtmögliche Robustheit aufzuweisen. Diese Grundideen repräsentieren Leitbild und Vision des Netz­werks.

Das zentrale Ziel des Netz­werks besteht darin, durch synergistische Zusammen­arbeit der beteiligten Unter­nehmen und Forschungs­einrichtungen neue technische Lösungen für die wesentlichen, bislang offenen Aufgaben­stellungen in der Agrar­robotik zu entwickeln und gemein­schaftliche Konzepte für deren Vermarktung zu erarbeiten. Die Roboter­systeme sollen eine Alternative zur gängigen, z.T. wenig umwelt­freundlichen Praxis in der Land­wirtschaft bieten und diese mittel- bis langfristig ablösen. Auf techno­logischer Seite zielen die FuE-Vorhaben im Rahmen des Netz­werks insbesondere auf die Verknüpfung der Agrar­robotik mit neuen Ansätzen aus der Künstlichen Intelligenz ab, vor allem Deep Learning, um die Präzision und Fähigkeiten roboter­basierter Systeme deutlich zu steigern.

Die Zukunfts­fähigkeit der land­wirtschaft­lichen Praxis in Hinblick auf Effizienz und Nach­haltig­keit ist eine der Hauptaufgaben der Agrar­wirtschaft, um sowohl die Versorgung der Menschheit als auch die Schonung essenzieller Ressourcen und den Erhalt der Umwelt sicher­zustellen. Damit ergeben sich für neue techno­logische Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich hervorragende Marktperspektiven in Deutschland, der EU und weltweit. Das Ziel des im Netz­werk geplanten, synergistischen und kooperativen Ansatzes besteht somit auch darin, den beteiligten Unter­nehmen weltweite Markt- und Wett­bewerbs­vorteile zu verschaffen und gemein­schaftlich auf eine Führungsrolle deutscher Akteure in diesem überaus chancen­reichen Bereich der Agrartechnik hinzuarbeiten.

Zusammen­gefasst behandelt das Netz­werk ein Thema mit zunehmender Bedeutung in der Agrar­wirtschaft, das mit über­greifenden ungelösten technischen Problem­stellungen verbunden ist. Zugleich ist der Handlungs­bedarf aufgrund der eingangs geschilderten Probleme in der Land­wirtschaft enorm, woraus sich eine große Marktrelevanz für neue, innovative Lösungen, welche die land­wirtschaft­liche Praxis effizienter und nachhaltiger machen, ableitet.